Provisional Revolutionary Government of the Republic of South Vietnam

The Provisional Revolutionary Government of the Republic of South Vietnam (PRG) (Chính phủ Cách mạng lâm thời Cộng hòa miền Nam Việt Nam) was formed on 8 June 1969 as an underground government opposed to the government of the Republic of Vietnam under President Nguyễn Văn Thiệu. Delegates of the National Liberation Front (NLF), as well as several smaller groups, participated in its creation. The PRG was recognized as the government of South Vietnam by most communist states. It signed the 1973 Paris Peace Treaty as an independent entity, separate from both the Democratic Republic of Vietnam (DRV, North Vietnam) and the Republic of Vietnam (RVN, South Vietnam). It became the provisional government of South Vietnam following the military defeat of the Army of the Republic of Vietnam (ARVN) on 30 April 1975. On 2 July 1976, the PRG and North Vietnam merged to form the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.