Republic of Vietnam

The Republic of Vietnam (RVN), also known as South Vietnam, was a country that existed from 1955 to 1975 and comprised the southern half of what is now the Socialist Republic of Vietnam. It received international recognition in 1949 as the “State of Vietnam” (a self-governing entity under French colonial rule), as a constitutional monarchy from 1949 to 1955. The Republic of Vietnam was proclaimed on 26 October 1955, with Ngô Đình Diệm as its first president, after having briefly served as premier under Emperor Bảo Đại who was exiled.